Return to Headlines

YHS to Induct 2017 Athletic Hall of Fame Class

The Yuma High School Hall of Fame Committee will enshrine seven new members into the school’s Athletic Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2017 consists of Paula K. Bostwick Rickleff (Class of 1988), the late Harry Needham (Class of 1956), Kenneth Needham (Class of 1957), Mike Pancrazi (Class of 1968), Richard Perez (Class of 1977), and the 1990 softball team, who won the AIA championship in the 5A Conference.

The group will be formally enshrined on Saturday, Oct. 21, 2017. The enshrinement ceremony is held in the Yuma High School Cafeteria at 11:30 a.m. followed by the presentation of their Hall of Fame inductee plaques at the Palace Gym.

The ceremony will cap three days of celebration for the enshrinees, including a gathering at Lute’s Casino in downtown Yuma on Thursday, lunch on campus, and reserved seating and recognition during Friday’s football game versus Cibola High School.

The 2017 class is the eighth inducted into Yuma High’s Athletic Hall of Fame. Beginning with the inaugural class in 2010, each member has been honored with a plaque in the east wing of the Palace Gym.

The Hall of Fame was organized to maintain the rich heritage and tradition of successful athletic programs at Yuma High School. It recognizes, preserves, and honors the athletes, coaches, and individuals who have made significant contributions to Yuma High athletic programs. Many individuals have been influential in the “Criminal Tradition” of excellence and have had exemplary accomplishments on the athletic programs. The Hall of Fame honors the contributions and accomplishments of those individuals who are worthy of recognition and have set examples for others to emulate. Nominees for the Hall of Fame must exemplify the highest standards of sportsmanship, ethical conduct, and moral character. All candidates are judged on their significant and/or long-term contributions to athletic endeavors.

There are 113 individuals and six teams enshrined in Yuma High’s Hall of Fame, including seven members of this year’s class.

Eric Patten